Skip to the content of the web site.



 Quick Links


  Religious Studies

photo collage

Buddhist Ways

His Holiness the Dalai Lama and images from Tibetan Buddhism


Buddhism is a Way founded by Siddhartha Gautama, the Awakened One, the Buddha (c. 500BCE). The spiritual path he taught is built around the Four Noble Truths:

1. Life is dukkha, usually translated as suffering.

2. The cause of suffering/dukkha is tanha, usually translated as clinging desire.

3. There is a way out of suffering.

4. Follow the Eight-Fold Path: Right Views, Right Intent, Right Speech, Right Conduct, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, Right Concentration.

Buddhists are those who take refuge in the Dharma (teachings), the Buddha, and the Sangha (spiritual community). There are three main streams of Buddhism: Theravada, the Way of the Elders, Mahayana, the Great Way, and Vajrayana, the Diamond Way. And within these large streams are diverse groups that include Pure Land, Zen, and Tibetan Buddhism.


Cho-ui Sunim, a Zen Buddhist nun, at her temple Shimwon-am, with a woman on retreat, in South Korea. Bodh Gaya, the place of Siddhartha Gautama's Awakening. Here, he
became the Buddha, the Awakened One, in the fifth century BCE. Bodh
Gaya is located in North India.


Inside the Buddhist temple at Sarnath, North India, where
the Buddha gave his discourse on the 4 Noble Truths